We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Problems with implementing dark themes.

Hey,

I'm quite new to Blazor and HTML and am probably just doing something wrong, if one of you could help me with that it would be great.

I tried to implement a dark theme in my completely new Blazor WASM app, that was created in VS2022 with the Synfusion extension.

When I reference a dark theme like fabrik-dark.css or bootstrap5-dark.css in my index.html like this

<link rel='nofollow' href="_content/Syncfusion.Blazor/styles/fabric-dark.css" rel="stylesheet" />

it only changes the appearance of the Synfusion components. Normal text, the background color and so on stay the same.

I tried to implement the theme switcher as described here, but that didn't work and as far as I see it it just switches around the implemented .css.

Downloading a theme from the Theme Builder and referencing it the same way doesn't work either.

5 Replies

JL Joshna Lingala Uthama Reddy Lingala Syncfusion Team January 19, 2022 04:38 AM UTC

Hi Joschka, 

Greetings from Syncfusion. 

We have prepared a sample in which when any dark theme is selected then the background of the browser along with Syncfusion components will be changed into dark. Please find the sample and image references, code snippets for the same below 

Code Snippets: 

MainLayout.razor: 

public void OnThemeChange(Syncfusion.Blazor.DropDowns.ChangeEventArgs<string, ThemeDetails> args) 
        if (args.ItemData.ID.Contains("dark") || args.ItemData.ID.Contains("highcontrast")) 
        { 
            JS.InvokeAsync<object>("setTheme", args.ItemData.ID, true); 
        } 
        else 
        { 
            JS.InvokeAsync<object>("setTheme", args.ItemData.ID, false); 
        } 

index.html: 

<head> 
    . . . 
    <link id="apptheme" rel='nofollow' href="css/app.css" rel="stylesheet" />