We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

What event gives the color a user selects in ColorEdit cell?

I'll admit I'm a newbie when it comes to the intricacies of Syncfusion's grids, but I'm missing something in the event sequence.
Here's my simple experiment. My goal is to react when the user selects a color in a ColorEdit cell.

In a new WinForm, create a new GridControl. Edit it so that some cell (I've been picking on 1,1 for this experiment) has a cell type of ColorEdit.
Add a button to the form as well.
Add event callbacks for the button's click and for the grid's CurrentCellChanged. (I've also looked at the grid's StyleChanged, CellsChanged, QueryCellInfo, QueryCellModel, and BackColorChanged events, but they either never fire, or in the case of the queries, give me a recursive call error when I look at the internals of the cell within the event.)

My limited understanding is that CurrentCellChanged should fire when the user selects a color, and it does. But neither Text, FormattedText nor CellValue reflect the new value the user selected; nor does any field that I can look at in the debugger.

I let the code continue from there, set a breakpoint on the button's click callback, and use the debugger to check the values of the ColorEdit cell after clicking the button. Text, FormattedText and CellValue all reflect the new value.

I understand from this that I need to catch some event after CurrentCellChanged to get the new color, or look at some data I haven't looked at during the CurrentCellChanged event. What should I do?

Thanks for any help you can give!

2 Replies

AD Administrator Syncfusion Team May 14, 2009 03:03 AM UTC