We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Retrieving/Saving Records to Database

Hi! Im new to syncfusion and I used VB2005. I am trying to create a grading system.My concerns are very basic...
1. How do retrieve records from my sql?
2. How do I assign formula? programatically (preferred) or through designer if any. Say in column A students name will display, Column B contains total Assign given by the teacher, in Column C teacher will enter scores of each students and in Column C i want to have a formula like =((A1/B1)*60 + 40).
3. Saving any changes to the database

6 Replies

NA Nisha Arockiya A Syncfusion Team September 11, 2008 12:03 PM UTC

Hi,

Thanks for your interest in Syncfusion products.

1)How to retrieve records from my sql?
Initially load the dataset to the grid using the following code snippet.
//load the dataset
this.sqlDataAdapter1.Fill(this.dataSet11);

After loading you can retrieve records from the Grid itself.

2)How do I assign formula?
You can assign formula to a whole column by setting ColStyles[colIndex].Text to specific formula of the FormulaCell celltype.

Me.GridControl1.ColStyles[3].CellType = "FormulaCell"
Me.GridControl1.ColStyles[3].Text = "=((A1/B1)*60 + 40)"

3)Saving any changes to the database

If you are using the VS designer to add your daatset and datatable, if you allow it to generate Update commands, then you only have to call this.sqlDataAdapter1.Update to have the dataadapter move the changes back to the data source. This is analogous to the this.sqlDataAdapter1.Fill command that retrieves the information when the data is originally loaded.

In the samples listed below, there are Form_Closing events taht have commented code in them that would do the update.

Syncfusion\Essential Suite\Grid\Samples\DataBound\GDBGMultiHeader