We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Text Selection

Hi All, I am new to the edit control, so excuse my questions. I have some code that processes a script prior to it being displayed in the edit control, and if there is an issue with the code, I want to highlight the offending text after it is displayed. I have the index and length of the text, but I cant seem to find the appropriate method on the edit control to convert the raw text index into the edit controls position format. ‘ConvertOffsetToVirtualPosition’ doesn’t return the correct location, but the following will return the correct text. string temp = editControl.Text.Substring( index, length ); But, I want to get location of where the edit control has that text. I can parse the text myself, counting the number of new lines to count line number, etc, but I would rather avoid that if I can. Calling either of these methods doesn’t yield the correct location. Point virtualLoc = txt.ConvertOffsetToVirtualPosition( index ); Point physicalLoc = txt.ConvertVirtualPositionToPhysical( virtualLoc ); Second question, is there a way to have a portion of the document marked as read only? Thanks, Dave

5 Replies

AD Administrator Syncfusion Team August 10, 2005 11:27 PM UTC