We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

DataSourcing grid reimplementation

Hi, As you suggested in your last post, I studied RepeaterUserControl sample. Pretty instructive to say the least. I think it gives a pretty nice idea of how to reimplement your grids structure (nice MVC structure btw). But now that I rewrote a grid to fit my needs (nested user control in cell in a cell embeded grid in a grid that is wrapped in another user control), I got a conceptual question. Where/how should I add DataSource to my grid. I need it to be accessible from the designer, so it''ll start from the wrapper user control, and I need the data in my OnDraw for the last cell that contains my final display user control. Should I simply pass it along the whole structure? If so, in the model, the control, the renderer? Or is there a more clever mechanism/interface I should use/implement?

21 Replies

AD Administrator Syncfusion Team July 7, 2005 02:05 PM UTC

If you need to get at it through the designer for your outer usercontrol, then it will have to be a public property of that class. And this suggests that this DataSource will not vary from cell to cell in any of the grids as there will only be a single property. If down where you need to know this datasource, you have knowledge of your ''inner'' usercontrol, then you could probably use the UserControl.Tag property to pass this DataSource from the outer UC.DataSource to the inner UC.Tag, and finally have it available in the OnDraw through the instance of the inner UC via its Tag property.

MC Martin Cyr July 7, 2005 02:41 PM UTC