We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

In a DropDownEdit column, how to display text instead of value

Hi,

I'm new to Syncfusion, and in the process of trying out a few different things to try to figure out how everything works. I'm using ASP.NET Web Forms, and I have a question about how to display text instead of value in a dropdownedit column.

I used the example from this link to populate the dropdown values, and it does work fine when I try to add a new row. It shows the text instead of the value in the dropdown from the datasource I provided. But as far as the grid itself is concerned, it only shows the values, and not the text itself.

This is my grid:

<ej:Grid ID="buildingsGrid" runat='server' AllowPaging="true" AllowSorting="true" AllowFiltering="true" OnServerAddRow="buildingsGrid_ServerAddRow" OnServerDeleteRow="buildingsGrid_ServerDeleteRow">
    <Columns>
        <ej:Column Field="UserBuildingID" IsPrimaryKey="true" Visible="false"></ej:Column>
        <ej:Column Field="buildingid" HeaderText="Building" EditType="DropdownEdit"></ej:Column>
    </Columns>
    <EditSettings AllowAdding="true" AllowEditing="false" AllowDeleting="true" />
    <ToolbarSettings ShowToolbar="true" ToolbarItems="add,delete,update,cancel"></ToolbarSettings>
</ej:Grid>

I databind it at PageLoad, and databind the dropdown as well. The datatable that's used as the datasource for the grid returns three columns: UserBuildingID, buildingid and Name. Here the buildingid and Name are connected, and I want to display the Name instead of buildingid, but the value should still be buildingid.

For databinding the dropdown column, this is what I use:

List<object> dropObj = new List<object>(); 
//read data from the SQL table 
using (SqlDataReader dr = cmd.ExecuteReader()) 
    while (dr.Read()) 

//Convert Table rows to text/value pair