We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Large Files

Hello, I am a software developer for a CAD/CAM software company and we are currently evaluating .NET syntax editor components for our next generation software. I have been running some tests with your editor component on ascii text files that our software generates, these files can become very large, for example a multi axis surface machining operation on a complex mold can run anywhere from 10 meg to 100+megs in size. I have a test MDI program in VB.NET and placed one of your edit controls on a child form; I did not set any edit properties so I am using whatever defaults the editor sets when placed on a WinForm. After running the program I opened a 25 meg text file (a surface machining file) and loaded it into the editor, the file loaded quickly (in fact enormously faster than one of your competitors edit controls) but I did run into an issue, once the child form displayed with the file loaded in the editor the form was unresponsive, I could not move it or scroll the edit control or do anything. Are there any properties or settings that I should enable prior to or after loading such a large file to increase loading and help usabilty? FYI, my development PC is running XP Pro VS.NET 2003 Pro P4 1.2 with 512 ram. Thank you in advance for your help, Regards, Mick George Software Engineer, CNC Software, Inc. www.mastercam.com

4 Replies

AD Administrator Syncfusion Team June 10, 2004 08:51 PM UTC