We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Sidebar Menu Demo

Hi,

I'd like to add a menu control to my web app, but I noticed that the sidebar demo uses a listview for a menu as opposed to the menu control. I am not an expert in layout and control use so it is not obvious to me why this is done (it may be standard practice for all I know or maybe the menu control doesn't work in a sidebar!).

Should I be using a listview or a menu in a sidebar menu?

If menu is ok, are there are pros/cons of using it versus the listview (in a menu scenario)?

And finally, (if menu is ok) is it easy to add a menu control to a sidebar or is there a sample somewhere (I did have a quick look but couldn't find anything)?

Thanks in advance

6 Replies

DL Deepa Loganathan Syncfusion Team December 7, 2018 11:20 AM UTC

Hi Dan,  

Thanks for contacting Syncfusion support.  

We understood your concern about using Menu with Sidebar and we would like to let you know that EJ2 Sidebar can be integrated with any components. 

Query: Listview or Menu? 

Listview is a layout control to render the items as a list with built-in features such as grouping, sorting, templating, nested listview etc., while Menu can be rendered with multilevel sub-menu options. You can choose between Listview and Menu based on your application needs.  

To know more about the features available in Listview and Menu and the UI level differences visually, please check the below demo pages, where we have showcased the features of each components. 

Demo:  

For your convenience, we have prepared a sample with Side bar integrated with Menu control and is available for download under the following link.  

Sample Link:  

Please check the sample and get back to us if you have any further queries.  

Regards,  
Deepa L. 

DA danacon December 7, 2018 12:09 PM UTC

Hi Deepa,