We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Any way to work around an old, broken control?

Hello, Community!

I'm using an application that's using a VERY dated version of Syncfusion controls (v4.102.0.62 and v4.102.0.1003).  The company that made the application is no longer supporting it (stopped around 2011).  When Windows 10 Anniversary Edition rolled in, it broke the application which uses a small handful of Syncfusion controls.  This is a known issue, and for those with source code, you can get an updated version of the controls and recompile.  Unfortunately, while I have the knowledge to do such things (I'm a C# developer), I don't have the source code.

I looked at various ways of forcing the use of a newer assembly, and while there are options, this one is old enough that the Public Key Token is different (it has to be the same if you want to force an application to use a newer assembly).  I'm kinda stuck.  Does anyone have any ideas, including any MacGyver moves?  I've run out of ideas.

Of course, if there's a patched version of the assemblies in question, that would be ideal!

Here's the specific error:

System.OverflowException: Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow.
   at Syncfusion.Drawing.DrawingUtils.NCPaintHelper(Control control, INonClientPaintingSupport ncPaintDelegate, Message& m)
   at Syncfusion.Windows.Forms.ThemedWindowDrawing.DrawThemedBorderColor(Control control, Message& msg)
   at Syncfusion.Windows.Forms.ScrollControl.WmNcPaint(Message& msg)
   at Syncfusion.Windows.Forms.ScrollControl.WndProc(Message& msg)
   at Syncfusion.Windows.Forms.Tools.TreeViewAdv.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)