We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Binding winth Linq To Sql from Button Click

Hi,
I am new to using these controls and I am having some trouble binding my grid.  I am trying to use the following linq to sql but I can't get it to work.  I am trying to bind on the click of a button with some criteria from a textbox(not currently in the linq to sql but will be added once I get this working).

public ActionResult LeadsByStateMailDate()
{
     var dkContext = new DKDatabaseEntities();
     var result = (from m in dkContext.Mailings
                          join p in dkContext.Persons on m.ID equals p.MailingID
                          join a in dkContext.Addresses on p.ID equals a.PersonID
                          where m.NoMail != "T"
                          group a by new { a.State, m.MailDate } into gg
                          orderby gg.Key
                          select new DKDatabaseModelClass.GrossLeadsByStateModel { MailDate = gg.Key.MailDate.ToString(), State = gg.Key.State, LeadCount = gg.Count() }).ToList();
     ViewBag.datasource = result.ToList();
     return View();
}

What should the razor code look like?

Also, is there an example of a parent child grid that I could see where selecting a row in the parent filters the child grid.  For example, lets say I have a parent grid that holds States and when a user clicks on a specific state, the child grid only shows data for that state.

Thanks.

7 Replies

MS Mani Sankar Durai Syncfusion Team December 27, 2016 01:14 PM UTC

Hi Richard, 

Thanks for contacting Syncfusion support. 

We have analyzed your query and we have prepared a sample by binding the data using Linq to Sql that can be downloaded from the below link. 
In this sample we have bound the data for the grid by passing through ViewBag. 
Please refer the below code example.