We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

some functions in grid

Hi,

I am starting to use grid in asp.net mvc 5 project, and wonder how I can implement these functions in grid (I have been using tree grid, and know how to implement those functions in tree grid, but not in grid)..
1.Hierarchy grid: I am new to this function. Please give me an example for this function. Particularly I am not clear how to provide data to child grid, and how child grid data connected to parent grid data.
2. How to update child grid data whenever parent data is changed?
3. Is there a function to refresh data for certain row in grid? such as in tree grid, you have refreshRow() method.
4. How to get the index for the row I am editing?
5. How to calculate the sum for the value from certain column in grid? For example, I have a column "Percentage", in which all the value are numbers. How can I get the total percentage for this column?
6. How to add hyperlink to certain column(custom column)?
7. How to use BeginEdit event to make some columns are editable but others are not? I know we can do it using AllowEditting, but wonder how we can do it using BeginEdit like in tree grid.

Thank you,

Harry

3 Replies

JK Jayaprakash Kamaraj Syncfusion Team November 6, 2015 10:37 AM UTC

Hi Harry,

Query
Response
how to provide data to child grid, and how child grid data connected to parent grid data.

Hierarchy Grid feature allows you to add the Grid control inside the Grid row. When you want to view the child Grid, you can expand the Grid. Bind the data to child Grid by assigning the foreign key field to” query string” property. Please refer the below code example, Help documentation, and sample.

Code Example:

.Columns(col =>

{

col.Field("EmployeeID").HeaderText("Employee ID").IsPrimaryKey(true).TextAlign(TextAlign.Right).Width(75).Add();