We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Grid data source and handling columns

Evening,

I am new to Lightswitch and Syncfusion (and javascript, oh my :) ), and have been trying to get the Grid working for Lightswitch HTML. I have a SQL Server database set up as an external data source, and I am trying to figure out how to work with some of the other Syncfusion features, such as the DatePicker. The application is very simple so far, just a Screen with a editable Grid for data entry and some of the toolbar buttons enabled.

Firstly: I was wondering if the way I have hooked up the data is the preferred way when dealing with an application like this one, or is it too much trouble working with a collection in that way?

and also related to this: How do I go about inserting a DatePicker into an existing column inside a Grid? I can make the Grid work, and I can make the DatePicker work, but not together. 

I can display the columns and the data with "columns: fieldname", but I am not sure how to deal with each individual column within the collection without breaking that link. I can do something like "columns: [ { field: "startDate", headerText: "Start Date" } ]", but that appears to create new columns rather than using the ones I already have in the collection from the SQL database. I am missing something obvious I am sure, any advice in the right direction would be much appreciated. 

Here is the code in my lsml.js code for my Screen:

/// <reference path="~/GeneratedArtifacts/viewModel.js" />

myapp.ProjectsGridTemplate.Timesheets_render = function (element, contentItem) {

// Write code here.

var itemTemplate = $("<div></div>").attr('id', 'Timesheets')

// Append the div element to screen

itemTemplate.appendTo($(element));

contentItem.value.oncollectionchange = function () {

if (itemTemplate.hasClass('e-grid')) {