We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Question Requires Assisting on SQOOP to HIVE.(Server SQL)

FIrst of all, I may ask some stupid question, because I'm still new in BIG data platform.

Well I had import one "Test" database from Server SQL into HDFS by using SQOOP, The image 0.png shows the example the job being done, Image 1.png is the SQL serer 2012 database, and Image 2.png is the databse store in HDFS.

And The question is 
1)does these database can be used in Hive ? if can how does it being used?
2)does the 'records' in the SQL server will also imported to the HDFS or they just import the 'Table' design only?
3)can i load the 'records' into the table that is created at HIVE? or how I select those data from HIVE
4)from the image 2.png, why is it the data have converted into part-m-00000, how can i read in HIVE AND PIG

Please and Thank you :)

Attachment: Image_1c4419d5.rar

5 Replies

PP Praveena P Syncfusion Team June 28, 2015 07:26 PM UTC

Hi Alex,

Thank you for using Syncfusion Products.

S.No

Query

Response

Does the 'records' in the SQL server will also imported to the HDFS or they just import the 'Table' design only?

The records in the table from SQL server are imported to the HDFS as a set of files containing a copy of a table and not the table design.

Can I load the 'records' into the table that is created at HIVE? or how I select those data from HIVE

Yes, certainly the records of table  transferred from SQL server to  HDFS using Sqoop can be loaded in to the table created in Hive and can query the records from hive.

This can be achieved by hive script .

Hive script for loading  imported data in to a table created in hive.

load data inpath ‘/user/SYSTEM/Members’ into table HiveTable;

HiveTable –  name of the table created in hive.

‘/user/SYSTEM/Members’ – HDFS path of the imported data.