We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Problem with syntax highlight occurring in plain text file

I'm new to Syncfusion so this is likely a case of me doing something wrong. I'm using a class derived from the EditControl. No radical changes just a couple of extra properties.

My problem is that in a .txt file any text between two apostrophes (single quote) is highlighted in red.
Example: In the string "I've gone as far as I'm able to go" the text "ve gone as far as I" is in red. And it's often dropped to the next line.

Any ideas?

13 Replies

SK Senthil Kumaran Rajan Syncfusion Team February 3, 2015 12:19 PM UTC

Hi Alan,

Thank you for using Syncfusion products,

Yes, Kindly request you to confirm, if you have enabled syntax formatting in EditControl by using Config.xml. If so, please check if you have set font color for string as “Red” as in below code snippet.

Code Snippet[XML]

//To Change the color of the String

<format name="String" Font="Courier New, 10pt, style=Bold" FontColor="Red" />

And also verify if you have defined, characters given between quotes to be considered as “string” like in below code snippet.

Code Snippet[XML];

//The text inside the Double quotes is mentioned as string Type

<lexem BeginBlock="&quot;" EndBlock="(&quot;)|(@&quot;)" Type="String" IsEndRegex="true"

IsComplex="true" OnlyLocalSublexems="true">

<SubLexems>

<lexem BeginBlock="\" EndBlock="&quot;" Type="String" />

</SubLexems>

</lexem>

//The text inside the Single quotes is mentioned as string Type

<lexem BeginBlock="'" ContinueBlock=".*" EndBlock="'" IsContinueRegex="true" Type="String" />

If so, we suggest you to either comment above code snippet or set string FontColor as per you requirement.

We have also prepared sample for your reference and this will be available in the below link.