We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

TabControlEx & creating new tabs

Hello,

I'm new to SyncFusion, and I wanted to know if it was possible to give the user the possibility to create an extra tab at run time, by showing it a dummy tab (with a + sign), à la IE or FireFox.

I can't find this feature in the control, nor the way to add it easily (I would need to create this dummy tab myself, but this tab shoud be handled differently from other tabs, wrt drag&drop, for instance).

Best regards

TabNew_3ef62336.png

8 Replies

CS C. Sudha Syncfusion Team August 20, 2009 10:09 AM UTC

Hi,

Your requirements could be easily achieved by writing template for TabItemExt.

The following code snippets demonstrate the same.

XAML:

x:Key="myTabItem">
Margin="1,0,0,0"
BorderBrush="SkyBlue"
Background="{StaticResource background}"
CornerRadius="5,5,0,0">

MouseLeftButtonUp event for TabItemExt.

C#:

private void addTab_MouseLeftButtonUp(object sender, MouseButtonEventArgs e)
{
try
{
if (TabControlExt1 != null)
{
TabItemExt tab = new TabItemExt();
tab.Header = "New Tab";
tab.BorderBrush = Brushes.SkyBlue;
TabControlExt1.Items.Insert(TabControlExt1.Items.Count - 1, tab);
tab.Focus();
}
}
catch (Exception) { }
}

Please download the below sample for more reference.

http://files.syncfusion.com/support//Tools.WPF/7.3.0.20/89197/main.htm

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Thanks for your interest in Syncfusion products.

Regards,
SudhaC.

LJ Loïc JOLY August 20, 2009 01:05 PM UTC

It looks like what I had in mind, and has the problem I was alluding to when talking about tab drag&drop. Please look at the attached screenshot of this example program, where the "+" pseudo-tab is no longer placed at the right position.

badTabOrder_667888a3.png

LJ Loïc JOLY August 20, 2009 01:08 PM UTC