We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Questions about Mail merge capabilites

Hello,

I am a lead developer looking for a mail merge product to implement into my application. I just have some questions regarding the mail merge functionality.

1. I assume I would just add the table fields onto the word document, and then the query will fill the definitions, correct?

2. If the document is saved into a database, can you save changes to the word document and is it possible to save the changes directly to file in the database, or does it have to be saved on your desktop?

5 Replies

DW DUPTyson Ware July 16, 2008 03:09 PM UTC

Hello,

I'm trying to answer my own question, but I'm looking forward to your response. I assume if you can save document changes into a stream, I would be able to save the changes back to the database, correct?

>Hello,

I am a lead developer looking for a mail merge product to implement into my application. I just have some questions regarding the mail merge functionality.

1. I assume I would just add the table fields onto the word document, and then the query will fill the definitions, correct?

2. If the document is saved into a database, can you save changes to the word document and is it possible to save the changes directly to file in the database, or does it have to be saved on your desktop?

DW DUPTyson Ware July 16, 2008 03:28 PM UTC

Just adding additional questions to the previous ones. Thanks.

1. can we indeed save the post-merge changes back and attach the modified document to the file upon save?
2. can we edit/redit an already merged, edited, saved document?
3. How do we define the merge templates - front-end using word mailmerge tools or within code?
4. How do we make the merge definitions available within the application?