We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Grouping entire GGC from Detail record

I have the following scenario, I have a master/detail relationship between 2 tables. I want to be able to use a Grid Grouping Control to show this relationship in a hierarchical manner. (No problems so far) The catch is that I want to be able to group the entire grid by selecting a column from the detail group. The only way I have found to do this is to flatten my tables using the ForeignKey relationship. This is functionally correct, but I would like to keep my presentation in a hierarchical format. For the visually inclined here''s what I have: CityID | City | State | Zip ----- Address1 | Address 2 | CityID I would like to be able to group Cities by Address1 (contrived I know) I would like to be able to grab Is this possible? If so how, if not why :)

8 Replies

AD Administrator Syncfusion Team October 3, 2005 03:55 PM UTC

Try adding the column to the ChildTableDescriptor''s GroupedColumns collection. //"ParentToChild" is name of the relation //"Address1" is column in child this.hierarchyGrid.TableDescriptor.Relations["ParentToChild"].ChildTableDescriptor.GroupedColumns.Add("Address1");

JM Jay Mooney October 3, 2005 04:46 PM UTC

>Try adding the column to the ChildTableDescriptor''s GroupedColumns collection. > >//"ParentToChild" is name of the relation >//"Address1" is column in child >this.hierarchyGrid.TableDescriptor.Relations["ParentToChild"].ChildTableDescriptor.GroupedColumns.Add("Address1"); > Thanks for the reply, it doesn''t quite do what I was looking for though. Adding "Address" to the child''s group column collection does organize the details, but the master record is still unaffected.

AD Administrator Syncfusion Team October 3, 2005 06:50 PM UTC