We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Angular Grid Changing Child grid data source based on Master grid key with Firebase

Hey Guys,

This might be an easy one but I am a beginner and trying to follow guides, but I have not seen an example like this.

So I followed this blogpost https://www.syncfusion.com/blogs/post/binding-a-firebase-data-source-to-grid-using-angularfire2.aspx to push data into a grid from my firebase and that works fine I am running into issues where I want to change the datasource of the child grid by using a key from master grid selected row args.

public key: string;
constructor(
    firebase: AngularFireDatabase,
  ) {

//fetch routes
    firebase
      .list('/routes')
      .valueChanges()
      .subscribe((routes) => {
        this.routeGrid.dataSource = routes; //intial data binding to grid
      });

firebase
      .list('/routes')
      .snapshotChanges()
      .subscribe((routes) => {
        this.routeGrid.dataSource = routes; // sync server data changes to grid
      });

firebase
      .list(`/routes/${this.key}/locations`)
      .valueChanges()
      .subscribe((routelocs) => {
        this.routelocationGrid.dataSource = routelocs; //intial data binding to grid
      });
    firebase
      .snapshotChanges()
        this.routelocationGrid.dataSource = routelocs; // sync server data changes to grid
      });
  }
  public onRowSelected(args: any): void {
    this.key = args.data.key;
  }

12 Replies 1 reply marked as answer

JB Jonas Blazinskas November 9, 2022 09:35 PM UTC

Of course, the above does not work because it is inside the constructor and only runs once at the beginning if I understand correctly. So changing the key does nothing. 

The next idea then I had to do something like this: where I then set this.firebase = firebase in the constructor.