We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date
close icon

Master-Details Relation in SfDataGrid

Hi.

I'm new to Syncfusion Tools and looking for a DataGrid to show Master-Detail relations.
I've found it in the GridDataBoundGrid component -  https://help.syncfusion.com/windowsforms/databoundgrid/using-master-details-relation
That's what I need.

But it looks like this control is "classic" and one should better use the SfDataGrid when starting new projects.
In SfDataGrid I could only find "nested detail grids".
So my question is: does SfDataGrid also support the way of showing Master-Detail-Relations like the GridDataBoundGrid?

Thanks

7 Replies

JN Jayaleshwari N Syncfusion Team January 28, 2019 11:12 AM UTC

Hi Alfred, 

Thanks for contacting Syncfusion Support. 

We have checked the reported query “Master-Details Relation in SfDataGrid” from our side. SfDataGrid provided support to show Master-Details relations as per your requirement. You can refer the following user guide documentation to use the Master-Details View in SfDataGrid. 

We have prepared the sample with master details view in SfDataGrid for your reference and you can download the same from the following location. 

Please let us know if you would require further assistance. 

Regards, 
Jayaleshwari N 

AK Alfred Klein January 28, 2019 07:50 PM UTC

Hi Jayaleshwari

thank you for your assistance.
I've tried your example which shows the following result like the screen shot - the Detail-grid is nested in the Master-grind:

But what I want do achieve is to place the Detail-grid in a separate panel beneath the Master-grid.
Screenshot:
With this approach I will be able to design a screen with
- one master-grid in the top-panel. For example:  customer
- two or more detail-grids of the customer in the bottom-panel in tabsheets.