We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

GridComboBoxColumn bound to DataTable, Primary Key inserted as Foreign Key in Parent DataTable

GridComboBoxColumn bound to DataTable, Primary Key inserted as Foreign Key in Parent DataTable

This took me over 10 hours to get working. This post is not a request for help, it is to document what I did should any other travelers come looking for the same soluiton

Requirement
If I have a DataTable dtList that has two columns
  • L_ID as Primary Key
  • Country as string

And if I have a datatable dtMaster that has a foreign key relationship to dtList with columns as below:
  • ID as primary key
  • L_ID as foreign key of DataTable dtList, (defined above)

I wish to create a  GridComboBoxColumn that:
  1. Will populate its list from  DataTable dtList, and display in the dropdown the strings Country (not its Primary Key L_ID)
  2. When the user selects a country, the combobox then takes the  L_ID as selected value and inserts that foreign key L_ID into DataTable dtMaster

XAML  
 <syncfusion:SfDataGrid x:Name="productDataGrid"
                               AllowEditing="True"
                               AutoGenerateColumns="False"
                               ColumnSizer="Auto"                            
                               ItemsSource="{Binding DTMaster}"                               
                               ShowGroupDropArea="True">
                        <syncfusion:GridComboBoxColumn 
                                                x:Name="FTELOCComboBox"  //See note below
                                                DisplayMemberPath="Country"
                                               HeaderText="MyHeaderText"
                                               MappingName="L_ID"
                                               SelectedValuePath="L_ID" />