We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Unable to update to database

I’m fairly new to VB .net so bear with me. I’ve tried all I other recourses to keep from bothering you with this question. I am using an SQL database with data binding and a VB windows App. I am having a problem with getting the table to update to the database. I am using textboxes to enter data into the grid. I am using the textboxes instead of the grid to facilitate data entry via barcode scanners. I have to enter a various number of rows the grid before the update is needed. The data is populating to the table and grid, but I am unable to get the data to update to the database. I have read that sometimes you must update the master and Detail record to the database at one time. At this point, I don’t know how to do that because I have to update the master record to the database to acquire the transaction number for the detail records. I have tried several suggestions from other forums, but have not succeeded as of yet. Because the Grid is a Syncfusion grid, I thought you would be able to assist better than the others. Can you help? Details: The Dataset is DsCrate1 Master Table: Package (includes: transactionNo, PackageNo, PalletNo) Detail Table: Crate_Details (includes: transcationNo, Item_Number, Date, Quantity) The transaction number is the related field. I have tried to update just the table by itself, but it will not update either. Here is the code I have been using to try to update the dataset: Public Sub UpdateDataSet() ''Create a new dataset to hold the changes that have been made to the main dataset. Dim objDataSetChanges As DsCrate = New DsCrate ''Stop any current edits. Me.BindingContext(DsCrate1, "Package").EndCurrentEdit() Me.BindingContext(DsCrate1, "Crate_Details").EndCurrentEdit() ''Get the changes that have been made to the main dataset. objD