We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

View with master / detail entry form

Hi,

I just won for a while a Syncfusion license and I wonder what can be appropriate for my scenario:
I started a MVC application (I must state that I am very new to MVC) where I have to deal with some "Create" views that must have an entry form for a main master model and one ore more child models in which I want to and one or more records in each, and all to be saved in related tables in one submit (anyway I think at an inline approach for being able to implement as a wizard style interface (e.g. step 1 a regular form for master model, step 2 a kind of editable grid (add new record) for first child model and so on). So since I am new also to MVC, also to Syncfusion I am here to ask:
what is the most suitable in Syncfusion MVC suite to my scenario?
where I found some relevant resources about how to deal with this master/detail scenario?
For accuracy I have to explain that the skeleton of my application is scaffold with Entity Framework (my models are made by the database first approach), the main controllers and views are the default one scaffold by VisualStudio (so I have all bunch of index, create, edit etc views).
I made also several ViewModels where I encapsulate several models by purpose of using them, and also I do some tweaks to controllers to reflect some customisation.
If relevant and permitted I will also post sample code.
I will add also a printscreen about what I hope to obtain at the end:

38 Replies

SR Sellappandi Ramu Syncfusion Team May 14, 2015 01:39 PM UTC

Hi Laurentiu,

Thanks for using Syncfusion products.

We have analyzed your requirement based on that we have created a sample and it can be downloaded from following link location.

Sample link: http://www.syncfusion.com/downloads/support/forum/119130/MVCGrid1855375813.zip