We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to browse, then you agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Image for the cookie policy date

Capturing user selected text inside a cell for copy/cut/paste operation.

I am new to Syncfusion so I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked and answered elsewhere. If it has perhaps some one could point me toward that thread. 

I am currently working on a a bug in an application that uses Syncfusion.Windows.Forms.Grid event library. As the application is currently written, if the user selects a portion of the text within a given cell (lets call it source cell) selects "Copy" or "Cut", than selects/highlights some portion of text in another cell (destination cell), and clicks "Paste", the entire content of the source cell is Copied/Cut into the destination cell. The desired effect is to perform the Copy/Cut operation only with the text that the user selected/highlighted and to not overwrite the entire contents of the destination cell, but only the portion that was highlighted. The desired behavior would be analogous to regular Microsoft Excel operation.

Does Syncfusion keep track of user highlighted text within a cell? If, so how can I access it? I am currently using Syncfusion Essentail Studio v9.3.0.61.

Thank you in advance for your help.

- Leo

5 Replies

AK Arun Kumar V Syncfusion Team December 7, 2012 06:23 AM UTC

Hi Leo,

Thanks for your interest in Syncfusion products.

Query:

Does Syncfusion keep track of user highlighted text within a cell? If, so how can I access it?

Yes, you can keep track of the selected text by customizing the following events.

1.       CurrentCellStartEditing event.

2.       TextBox_MouseUp event.

Please refer to the following code snippet and the sample file.

Code snippet:

void gridDataBoundGrid1_CurrentCellStartEditing(object sender, CancelEventArgs e)

{

GridCurrentCell cc = this.gridDataBoundGrid1.CurrentCell;